Super Tuesday

Michael Bakshandeh

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

What even is “Super Tuesday”? In case you didn’t know, the phrase “Super Tuesday” was originally coined because on this specific day, more states have primaries than on any other day. Now, ironically, there is also a “Super Duper Tuesday,” in which even MORE states have primaries, but that is a story for another day.

The states that participate in Super Tuesday change every election cycle. This election cycle, the participating states of Alaska, North Dakota, and Wyoming held the Republican caucuses. The states of Alabama, Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Arkansas, and Colorado held Republican and Democratic caucuses. The states of Oklahoma, Texas, Tennessee, Virginia, and Vermont held Democratic and Republican primaries.

This means that there were a total of 15 states that held some sort of election process on Super Tuesday. Since there are 50 states in the United States, 30% of all the states make some decision regarding the presidential race on Super Tuesday. Wow!

The results of Super Tuesday were mixed, but clear leaders began to show. Hillary Clinton solidified her hold on the Democratic nomination with solid wins in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Massachusetts, Texas, Tennessee, and Virginia. Bernie Sanders won Colorado, Minnesota, Oklahoma, and Vermont. After Super Tuesday, Clinton had 486 delegates and Sanders had 321 delegates.

Donald Trump and Ted Cruz had solid showings on Super Tuesday. Trump won Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Massachusetts, Tennessee, Vermont, and Virginia. Ted Cruz won Alaska, Oklahoma, and the great state of Texas, which he represents. Marco Rubio also had his first win by winning Minnesota. Out of the eleven eligible states, Trump won seven and Cruz won three. The two leaders Trump and Cruz won 256 and 219 delegates (respectfully) after Super Tuesday. John Kasich and Ben Carson were not winners in any state, but Kasich is likely to win in his home state of Ohio.

The election saga continues…